The stone-working district of the Apuan Alps and the Versilia coast covers two regions - Liguria and Tuscany - and three provinces – La Spezia, Massa-Carrara and Lucca. It is a territory dominated both by the presence of the Apuan Alps - a massif with very steep sides and peaks between 1,800 and 2,000 metres in height - and the Tyrrhenian Sea, with its coastal resort towns. Massa-Carrara and Lucca have been included in the stone-working District recognized by the Tuscany Region in 2000. The District includes the territories of Carrara, Fivizzano, Massa, Minucciano, Montignoso, Piazza al Serchio, Pietrasanta, Seravezza Stazzema and Vagli di Sotto. The marble industry is a vital resource of the Alpi Apuane-Versilia area. This is the area that produces one of the most famous and prestigious marbles in the world - the “bianco”- extracted in an area of about 20 sq km with peaks touching 2.000 metres in altitude.